Thursday, November 27, 2008

SF trip

In march of 2009, I took a trip to San Francisco, California. My aunt, her husband, and my little cousin were visiting from Mexico. Almost all of my relatives living here decided to go along and this is the evidence from that trip. I f***ing love the city. It's the feeling that you are in a cosmopolitan location combine with the cool breeze from the sea and modern atmosphere. It's really cool.

It's nice and they are doing a lot of construction in like the bay area like these apartments.

You see, lots of new buildings.

Sculptures with scantly clothed men.... well is San Francisco after all, right?

This is the view of the bay, you can say "down town", from Alcatraz. "The Rock" is very interesting too. It was cold as hell! Which may seem odd looking at the sunny picture above. However, the air was freezing. They say is a cold city, but I don't mind it. Heck, I like to move in there! There have a lot of concerts and i like the culture there.

Cargo ships and cranes to load them up viewed from a bridge that is like the Golden gate but less known (that's why i do not f***ing can remember its name at the moment).

A seagull posing for me. Views like these are abundant in these city. even an amateur photographer like me can take awesome pictures like this one with the beautiful imagery this city has to offer.

You may recognize this pic from another post. This one I took it on my way back from SF.

And of course, The Golden Gate, It's blurry 'cause me and my cousins were jumping and running; and because I suck at taking pictures too.

Take care.

Thursday, November 20, 2008

Cathedral vs Shame

Is necessary that you listen to this song (and pay attention to the f*cking cool lyrics) from Ladytron, called "Versus", if you want to understand the title of my post. (Of course, it's your choice, you don't have to listen to it, but at least "hear it" as you read, thanx).

The pictures were taken by me inside the Cathedral of Our Lady of San Juan de los Lagos, the second most visited pilgrimage shrine in Mexico. I was there last year on the Christmas break. I will be there this year too. I'm not a very devoted catholic, but the beauty and splendor of this magnificent piece of architecture is breathtaking (made with the blood, sweat, and money of humble worshipers, yeah our "Holy Mother Church" is so very kind ).
I think that its baroque style is great, I like how the cathedral, majestic as it is, fits as another piece in the city. I mean is so Mexican, colorful vibrant. In Germany you find these same churches with the same style and they seem gloomy and cold, which is nice in its own way.However, in Mexico, the churches become part of the towns' soul, it's part of the people's culture; they are solemnly catholic... but more Mexican than solemn.

C u.
I hope I can take more pics for a more extended post this time visiting the cathedral.

Thursday, November 13, 2008

Big Bear

I think you should listen to this song when you look at these pics. This link will lead you to an unofficial music video for the song "All the Way" from Ladytron. They are so freaking coooool, they inspire me (and apparently they inspire other crazy peolple too, not just me).
OK I'm got over the incident at my job...(not really, I'm looking for a new job. Shit, I hate the way I love money... 'cause it's hard to get, but it leaves you so easily). Anyways, I told you that the blog will have pictures that were taken recently or some like these, taken a long time ago (I'm exaggerating, this pics were taken in either February or April of 2007 I don't know).Well, I'm an amateur photographer ( really, I'm sure that if I don't tell you, you have never find out. I took a lot of pictures that day but my relatives appear on them and they didn't sign a release or shit, so i won't risk a law suit) This one is near a store when we make a little stop to do something...I can't remember why we stop O_o
The lamp... (lantern sounds better) was pretty cool.
The view all the way up to the mountains was very pretty (I don't like how that sounds, plus it didn't feel like"pretty" when you see it. It was more: You are tiny, small, knock it off with the pollution and deforestation. Yeah, it was more like that). If it's blurry it's cause was taken as we drive by. Yeah I took pictures as I drive...well not this one, the curves on the road are dangerous I was not driving.A little creek, the water was very cold. Very cold. (I accidentally "step" on the damned water, so I know it was cold... very cold).
The waterfall look small in my pic but it wasn't and you can actually follow a path up to a "viewing spot" wasn't the Niagara Falls but it was worth it. (Hell no!, walking like twenty minutes with a very steep and narrow road, it was not fun at all, especially for me, shoot I'm out of shape; I was, and I'm still out of shape). I know it's hard to see but there's a little bit of snow.
Trees... and guess what? More trees!

This one is for those that may think that the white stains (that sounds nasty) weren't snow. (Or should I type "wasn't snow", that's why i hate english; stupid grammar. I will never get rid of my ESL doubts...mistakes it's more precise). You can clearly see the snow here.
Another tree, different angle. My memory card is damaged... or my camera is broken (either way, something is fucked up), That's why my picture looks like that. I shouldn't post it...who cares!

Take care.